Select Page

Software Sustainability Institute Fellowship 2016

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Software Sustainability Institute Fellowship...

Are you a UK based researcher? Can you demonstrate a passion for your area, an ability to communicate ideas effectively and a real interest in the role of software in research?

Then, the following information may be of interest to you:

The Software Sustainability Institute holds a Fellowship Programme that funds
researchers in exchange for their expertise and advice.

The deadline for applications is 1 October 2015.

The main goals of the Programme are gathering intelligence about research and software from all disciplines, encouraging Fellows to develop their interests in the area of software sustainability (especially in their areas of work) and aiding the Fellows as ambassadors of good software practice in their domains. The programme also support capacity building and policy development initiatives. 

Each Fellow is allocated £3,000 to spend over fifteen months.

Read more

About the Software Sustainability Institute

UK National facility* for cultivating and improving research software to support world-class research, the Institute is a leading international authority on research software sustainability, working with researchers, funders, software engineers, managers, and other stakeholders across the research spectrum.

The use of software in research continues to grow, and the Institute plays a key role in helping the research community to help itself. We have built a network of over 60 Fellows from across research disciplines, championed research software and software career paths to stakeholders, worked with over 50 projects to improve their codes, written guides on all aspects of software sustainability read by over 50,000 people, and organised training events for thousands of learners. Our mission is to cultivate better, more sustainable, research software to enable world-class research (“Better software, better research”)

*based at the Universities of Edinburgh, Manchester, Oxford and Southampton

Further information