Select Page


  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Israel

The CODATA member organisation for Israel is the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, which acts as a national focal point for Israeli scholarship in both the natural sciences and the humanities. The Academy consists of 136 of Israel’s most distinguished scientists and scholars who, with the help of the Academy’s staff and committees, monitor and promote Israeli intellectual excellence, advise the government on scientific planning, fund and publish research of lasting merit, and maintain active contact with the broader international scientific and scholarly community.


CODATA Israel National Committee

CODATA-Israel works on behalf of The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities to promote the creation, collection, processing, preservation and accessibility of data for researchers to promote all fields of science and to serve society in Israel. CODATA-Israel works in close connection with the international CODATA acting on behalf of the International Science Council. 

The members of CODATA-Israel are: Associate Professor Daphne Raban, Professor Ron Unger, Dr. Renana Keydar. Additional members will be appointed in the near future.

CODATA-Israel’s mission focuses on the following activities:

1. Data:

  • Improving the availability and usefulness of data for scientific research by promoting infrastructures for the preservation and accessibility of data and long-term projects at the institutional level (institutional repository) and nationally in all fields of science
  • Promoting data literacy and supporting technologies among Israeli researchers
  • Promoting compliance with FAIR requirements

2. Collaborations:

  • Promotion of data-based scientific collaborations in Israel and abroad
  • Cooperation with other organizations and centers in Israel that focus on data
  • Participation in global CODATA activities, including encouraging Israeli researchers to take part in the activities of task groups (TG) supported by CODATA

3. Policy and implementation:

  • Promotion of a data policy for the Israeli academy
  • Assistance and advice for the implementation of academic and professional programs in the fields of data science
  • Consulting (e.g. by creating position papers) on issues related to data science in non-academic bodies (e.g. government offices, HMOs, hospitals)


Previous activities of the national committee include:


Chair and membership of the CODATA Israel National Committee

Daphne R. Raban is associate professor at the School of Business Administration, Academic Head of the University Library, and founding Head of the Department of Information & Knowledge Management at the University of Haifa. Her research interests are the information society and the information economy.

Daphne became chair of the CODATA Israel National Committee in November 2022.

Dr. Renana Keydar, assistant professor, Law and Digital Humanities, Hebrew University of Jerusalem:
Prof. Ron Unger, professor, Faculty of Life Sciences, Bar-Ilan University:




Page last updated: 2024-02-06.