Select Page


  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Events
  4. /
  5. CODATA Prize


The CODATA Prize is a major biennial award made in recognition of outstanding achievement in advancing the availability, quality and use of data for research.  It is awarded at our conference.

The 2016 CODATA Prize will be awarded to Dr. David R. Lide.  Dr. Lide, will receive the Prize at SciDataCon 2016, Denver, Colorado, USA on 11-13 September 2016. SciDataCon 2016 ‘Advancing the Frontiers of Data in Research’ is part of International Data Week.

The 2014 CODATA Prize was presented at SciDataCon 2014, 2-5 November 2014, New Delhi, India, Professor Sydney R. Hall, recipient of the Prize, was given then his award with a commemorative artwork and also received financial support to travel to New Delhi to deliver a Prize lecture at SciDataCon 2014.

Other past prize winners include Dr. John Rumble, also formerly CODATA President; Professor LIU Chuang, Institute of Geography and Natural Resources, Chinese Academy of Sciences, and currently Secretary of the CODATA Task Group on Preservation and Access to Data with Developing Countries; and, Dr. Paul F. UhlirDirector of the Board on Research Data and Information and an international expert on legal and policy issues in relation to research data.

The purpose and criteria of the CODATA Prize are such that the Prize:

  • acknowledges outstanding achievement in advancing the availability, quality and use of data for research;
  • recognises either a one time achievement or of an achievement over time;
  • is given, in preference, to an individual;
  • recognises work carried out in areas of importance to the CODATA mission, such as data management, evaluation, dissemination, access issues, international cooperation, knowledge discovery, archiving or related subjects.

CODATA Prize Awards:

2016 CODATA Prize Winner: Dr. David R. Lide, USA

2014 CODATA Prize Winner: Professor Sydney R. Hall, Australia

2012 CODATA Prize Winner:  Michael F. Goodchild, USA

2010 CODATA Prize Winner: Paul F. Uhlir, USA

2008 CODATA Prize Winner: Professor LIU Chuang, China

2006 CODATA Prize Winner: Dr. John Rumble, Gaithersburg, MD, United States

2004 CODATA Prize Winner: Professor Jean Bonnin, Paris, France

2002 CODATA Prize Winner: Professor Arthur D Pelton, Montreal, Canada

2000 CODATA Prize Winner: Dr. Barry Taylor, Gaithersburg, MD, United States