Select Page


Council of Finnish Academies

Council of Finnish Academies

The CODATA member organisation for Finland is the Council of Finnish Academies.

Council of Finnish Academies

Kirkkokatu 6 (Room 208)

FI-00170 Helsinki Finland

E-mail: info [at] 


The principal contact at the Council of Finnish Academies is:

Panu Nykänen, PhD

Secretary General

E-mail: paivi.tikka [at]

Finnish Committee for Research Data

The Finnish National Committee for Research Data was officially established on 28 May 2015.

Heidi Laine, as Secretary, is the contact person for the Committee :

Email: info [at]

The members of the Finnish National Committee for Research Data are as follows:

Chair and Delegate to CODATA:

Leo Lahti, Associate Professor in Data Science, University of Turku
Department of Computing
FI-20014 University of Turku
Email: leo.lahti [at]
Contact page: contact page, URL:


Heidi Laine, Open Knowledge Finland


  • Jussi Nuorteva, Director General, Finnish National Archives
  • Leif Laaksonen, Director, CSC – IT Center for Science
  • Sanna Sorvari, Head of Research, Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Kirsi Vainio-Korhonen, Professor of Finnish History, University of Turku
  • Petri Myllymäki, Director, Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT)


Recent activities (2020-2022):

  • New CODATA representative selected (Leo Lahti)
  • Participation in National Coordination on Open Science in Finland
  • Preparation for a national policy on open research methods is ongoing


Last updated: 2022-01-18.