Select Page

Call for Nominations for the 2017 TWAS Young Affiliates: Closing on 31 May 2017

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Call for Nominations for...
The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) would like to kindly request TWAS and AAS fellows, TWAS Affiliates, Science Academies and fellows, Young Academies of Science, Research Institutions, Research Councils, Universities, Government entities, and individual scientists from the Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLC’s) listed below to submit applications/nominations for the TWAS Young Affiliates 2017.
Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Rep, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem. Rep. Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Rwanda, Senegal, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
TWAS-ROSSA invites you to nominate suitable candidates for the 2017 TWAS Young Affiliates. The honour is given to researchers from developing nations who have at least 10 international publications. The nominees should show potential for a high-impact career. During their five-year tenure, Young Affiliates build networks with other affiliates and with elected TWAS Fellows. They also attend international conferences such as the TWAS General Meeting where they make contributions and are exposed to mentoring as well as collaboration opportunities. The five selected TWAS Young Affiliates will also be part of and work closely with the TWAS Young Affiliates Network (TYAN) which was established in 2016 during the 27th TWAS General Meeting in Kigali, Rwanda. TYAN is anticipated to bring fresh energy to the Academy by creating links among early career scientists and promoting international collaboration. 
Nominations are invited from TWAS and AAS fellowsMembers of National Academies and fellowsMembers of  National Young Academies of Science, Research Institutions, Research Councils, Universities, Government entities and other such bodies that have or know this talent in sub-Saharan Africa. Self-Nomination is also acceptable. Nominations of women and young scientists from Science and Technology Lagging countries is highly encouraged.
Nominees must be aged 40 or less and living and working in a developing country. More information is provided on the attached nomination form. Kindly use the form to submit your nomination. All nominations must be forwarded to by 31 May 2017.
For more information about TWAS-ROSSA, visit the website