Select Page

India: Data Citation Workshop 2015

India: Data Citation Workshop 2015


The India Data Citation Workshop, named “Evolving Data Science Standards & Citation Attribution Practices”, was held on the 5-6th November 2015 at the Indian National Science Academy, in New Delhi, India.


November 5    


Inaugural Session

  • Welcome & Introduction, Dr. Chandrima Saha,Vice-President Elect, International Affairs, INSA, & Director National Institute of Immunology
  • Address, Prof. Krishan Lal, Workshop Chair & President, AASSA, Former Director, NPL, & Immediate Past President, INSA
  • Adress “About the Current Initiative-Data Citation Principles & Practices”, Dr. Jan Brase, Co-Chair, CODATA-ICSTI Data Citation TG
  • Address, Dr. Tishyarakshit Chatterjee,Former Secretary, MoEF & Director, IIPA
  • Keynote Address “Data Collection and Management: Practices in Government”, Dr. T.C.A. Anant, Secretary, MoSPI and Chief Statistician of India
  • Inaugural Address, Dr. R. Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Advisor to GoI & Chairman, SAC-C
  • Vote of Thanks, Dr. Usha Mujoo Munshi, Workshop Coordinator

11:30- 13:30

Theme I:  Data Science, Technology, Research and Applications:

Chairman : Professor Ramakrishna Ramaswamy, Professor, School of Physical Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Former Vice Chancellor, University of Hyderabad

  • DST Report: Data Science, Technology, Research and Applications, Dr. K.R. Murali Mohan, Advisor & Head, Big Data Initiative, DST, GoI
  • Data Science Research -Technological and other Issues : Current Scenario & Future Directions, Prof. Yadati Narahari, Chairman, Division of Electrical Sciences, IISc, Bengaluru
  • e-infrastructure for research data management: Strategy and Implementation Plan, Dr. B.K. Murthy, Executive Director, C-DAC, Noida
  • Application of Data Techniques across domains: Some Insights, Prof. Ajit Kembhavi, Director, IUCAA, Pune

14:30 – 16:30

Panel Discussion “Data Science, Technology, Research and Applications : Developments in Indian Context”

ChairmanDr. Prahlada Rao B.B., Executive Director, C-DAC, Bengaluru

  • Prof. Alok Bhattacharya, Professor, School of Life Sciences, JNU
  • Prof. Santanu Chaudhury, Dhananjay Chair Professor, Department. of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
  • Dr.  Sudha Midha, Additional Director General, National Sample Survey Organisation
  • Prof. Suresh Mishra, Chair Professor & Chairman Centre for Consumer Studies, IIPA
  • Dr. K J Ramesh, Scientist G & Advisor, Ministry of Earth Sciences, GoI
  • Prof. Vinod K. Sharma, Executive Vice-Chairman, Sikkim State Disaster Management Authority
  • Dr. Durga Toshniwal, Department of Computer Science .& Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee

18:00 -19:00

Networking over Dinner Discussion

Invited Dignitaries:

  • Dr. Jitendra Singh, MoS (Independent Charge), Science and Technology and Earth Sciences and MoS for Prime Minister Office Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space
  • Dr. Girish Sahni, DG, CSIR & Secretary, DSIR, GoI
  • Dr. Ajay Kumar, DG, NIC & Additional Secretary, Deity, GoI
  • Shri Pawan Agarwal, Jt. Secretary, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

November 6

10.00 – 13.00

Theme II:  Data Attribution & Citation Practices:

Chairman: Dr. Jan Brase, Co-Chair, CODATA-ICSTI Data Citation Task Group
Co-Chair : Dr. Nafees Meah, Director, Research Councils, UK.(RCUK) India, British High Commission

  • Big and Open Data in Government, Dr. Neeta Verma, DDG, NIC
  • Current Status of Managing Research Data by R&D community, Dr. S Ganesan, Head, Nuclear Data Section, Reactor Physics Design Division & Professor, Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai, DAE & Project-In-Charge, NDPCI
  • Data Management & rolling out strategy and implementation Plan: Country Experience from UK Research Council, Dr. Paul Meller, Strategic Lead for Data and Resources, Economic and Social Science Research Council (ESRC)


Panel Discussion ” Data – Management, Sharing and Services : Current & Future Role of Data Stakeholders”

Chairman: Dr. R. Gopichandran, Director, Vigyan Prasar
Co-Chair : Dr. Paul Meller, Strategic Lead for Data and  Resources, Economic and Social Science Research Council (ESRC)

  • Dr. Jagdish Arora, Director, INFLIBNET
  • Dr. Gopal Bhushan, Director, DESIDOC, DRDO
  • Dr. A.K. Garg, Director, International Cooperation, DeitY, GoI
  • Prof. Hiranmay Ghosh, Principal Scientist,TCS
  • Col. Haridas M., CLAWS 
  • Dr. H.K. Kaul, Director, DELNET
  • Dr. Debasisa Mohanty, Scientist, NII
  • Prof. A.R.D. Prasad, Head, DRTC, ISI, Bangaluru
  • Prof. Roshan Raina, IIM, Lucknow & VC
  • Dr. Harpreet Singh, ICMR
  • Dr. Biplav Srivastava, Senior Researcher, IBM Master Inventor IBM Research, India
  • Ms. Neeta Verma, DDG, NIC, GoI
  • Prof. O.P. Wali, Professor, IIFT


Concluding Session:

Welcome Address
Prof. Alok Bhattacharya, Professor, JNU & Chair- CODATA, National Committee

Opening Remarks
Dr. T. Chatterjee, Former Secretary, MoEF and Director, IIPA

Introduction of Guest Speakers
Prof. Vinod K. Sharma, Executive Vice-Chairman, Sikkim-Disaster Management Authority & Senior Professor, IIPA

Address by the Chief Guest
Dr. P.K Mishra, Addl. Principal Secretary to PM

Recommendations for framing Policy Guidelines
Prof. Krishan Lal, Workshop Chair & President, AASSA, Former Director, NPL, & Immediate Past President, INSA

Wrap up
Dr. Usha Mujoo Munshi, Workshop Coordinator

Read more

Photo album on the CODATA Facebook page


Data Citation TG main page